Minor In Possession

Call Us Submit Ticket Text Us

Minor In Possession

Our office routinely helps people who have been charged with MIP (Minor in Possession) A minor can be charged with MIP for actual possession of an alcoholic beverage or for "possession by consumption." Possession by consumption means a minor who has "a detectable blood alcohol content of .02 percent". Any minor who is caught possessing what appears to be an alcoholic beverage, faces a rebuttable presumption that the liquid contained in the beverage is alcoholic. The burden to prove the contrary is on the accused. A guilty plea on an MIP can result in an Abuse and Lose suspension of your driving privileges. Our office can likely help you avoid such a suspension.

Possession of Controlled Substance

If you have been charged with possession of a controlled substance or possession of paraphernalia, we can help you. Our office has experience dealing with controlled substance charges ranging in severity from an ordinance violation for possession of less than 35 grams of marijuana to felony charges. We can help you to understand all of the potential consequences of your charge, which could include an Abuse and Lose suspension of your driving privileges, and will fight to get you the best possible outcome.


The Missouri Abuse and Lose Law requires Missouri courts to suspend or revoke the driving privileges of any person who is determined to have committed any of the following offenses when they were under 21 years old, upon their plea of guilty, conviction, or finding of guilt.

  1. Any alcohol-related traffic offense;
  2. Any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol, committed while operating a motor vehicle;
  3. Any offense involving the possession or use of a controlled substance;
  4. Any offense involving the alteration, modification or misrepresentation of a license to operate a motor vehicle; and
  5. You did not receive a suspended imposition of sentence for the offense
  6. Any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol for a second time if both offenses were committed when the person was under 18 years of age.

  7. The driver license suspension period for a 1st offense Missouri Abuse and Lose Law violation is 90 days. The driver license revocation period for the 2nd and subsequent Missouri Abuse and Lose Law violations is 1 year. To get the Missouri driver license back when it is suspended or revoked under the Missouri Abuse and Lose law, a SATOP completion form, and $45 reinstatement fee must be sent to Driver License

Submit Ticket


Please fill this form out completely, you'll be surprised how quickly we contact you.

If you get pulled over be polite!

A bad attitude with the officers can and will affect how the prosecutor and judge handle your case.

More Facts & Tips

This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.

The Choice Of An Attorney Is An Important One And Should Not Be Based On Advertising Alone

St. Louis: 314-895-4040
St. Charles: 636-916-4040

Copyright 2019 didyoublow.com® | All Right Reserved | Designed By stlwebstudios